Topic 2.3 – Social Networking

Social networking is something alot of people are very familiar with these days. My first experience was with Myspace about 4 – 5 years ago now. I wasn’t in to it heaps at the start, I didnt feel comfortable being exposed to the Internet world. I soon got the hang on it and was using it nearly daily to see what people were doing and catching up with old friends, it is a fantastic social networking site. The Facebook phenomenon started shortly after I was comfortable in the Myspace world and I had to take a peek to see what was happening. I found myself drawn to Facebook more than Myspace so I jumped ship and now use Facebook almost daily.

In this topic we spoke about privacy on these social networks, and I have noticed alot these days that people will put up very personal stuff on Facebook. There is private and personal information updated every day by some people, exposing their lives to everyone. I think alot of people are very unaware of how much some people out there can gather on them, stealing ideas, spying, stalking and even ID theft. It would be a shame to filter these social networking sites but in some cases it would benefit people.

Activity – Introducing Twitter

This week we were required to sign up to Twitter and find some people we wanted to ‘follow’. The idea behind Twitter is to update your current status and what you are doing, to sort of let the world know what is happening in your life. It is fantastic to see what celebrities are doing, some people even get to meet them if they are close to them.

I had signed up about a year ago but never used it, I only signed up for a competition, but now I have gone back in to my old account and found some celebrities to follow. Below is a screen shot of who I am following.

Leave a comment